Jump to content


Photo

Artcut Software


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mrcleen22

mrcleen22

    advanced members II

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:illinois
  • Interests:computers, and glass carving

Posted 08 February 2008 - 10:22 PM

hi,
im mike and i am new here. i just got a artsign cutting plotter and the artcut software that came with it said i can import .eps files and some others but when i try to import a .eps file it never shows up on the screen. is there somthing else i need to do, to get the vectored art into artcut. if any body could help me i would be so greatful. and when i said i was new here i also ment i am new to sandcarving i have only blasted 4 things as of right now. thanks for any help anybody can offer. mike
mike

#2 Inga

Inga

    Patron/2009 contributor

  • Patron/2009 Contributor
  • 3,376 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado High Rockies
  • Interests:Chasing mountains & listening to snow, loving my kitty-boys, MY computer, cooking, camping, travelling, alternative medicine, metaphysical studies....learning, learning - "Input" (remember #3?) ...Scrabble anyone?

Posted 08 February 2008 - 10:36 PM

Mike, just a shot in the dark here, but you might need to try things like seeing that all of the lines are the same weight, the same color, on the same layer, unlocked, and possiby the most important, that they have no fill to them.

The other thing that comes to mind is that perhaps the program making the original EPS files is making a version that is too new for ArtCut. See if you can save to an older EPS version and try that.

Maybe try these things and get back with us......

~Inga

PS - What are the other files formats it say it can import, and do they work?
Imagination is more important than knowledge,
because knowledge tells what was....
whereas imagination tells what will be.

-- Einstein


#3 mrcleen22

mrcleen22

    advanced members II

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:illinois
  • Interests:computers, and glass carving

Posted 08 February 2008 - 11:27 PM

hi thanks for the reply. it say i can take .tif .dxf .txt .bmp .plt .ac5 and .ac6 it will open up .bmp it will let me import .bmp but nothing else. as long as it is .bmp it can be a photo r drawing
mike

#4 Inga

Inga

    Patron/2009 contributor

  • Patron/2009 Contributor
  • 3,376 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Colorado High Rockies
  • Interests:Chasing mountains & listening to snow, loving my kitty-boys, MY computer, cooking, camping, travelling, alternative medicine, metaphysical studies....learning, learning - "Input" (remember #3?) ...Scrabble anyone?

Posted 09 February 2008 - 12:39 AM

Are you saying it will not import .DXF either? do you need me to send you one to try?
I will PM you.......

(NOt sure what ac5 & ac6 are.)

!Inga
Imagination is more important than knowledge,
because knowledge tells what was....
whereas imagination tells what will be.

-- Einstein


#5 VB Whiz

VB Whiz

    Patron/07/08/2009 Contributor

  • Patron/2009 Contributor
  • 2,007 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maryland Heights, MO
  • Interests:Sand carving, engraving, software design, web design, muzzleloader shooting.

Posted 09 February 2008 - 01:37 AM

QUOTE (Inga @ Feb 8 2008, 11:39 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Are you saying it will not import .DXF either? do you need me to send you one to try?
I will PM you.......

(NOt sure what ac5 & ac6 are.)

!Inga



Just a guess Inga, but the software he's using is Artcut. I'd be willing to guess that AC5 and AC6 are version 5.x and 6.x of Artcut.
Tom.

Kuhn's Custom Engravings
Skype ID: vbwhiz

#6 mrcleen22

mrcleen22

    advanced members II

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:illinois
  • Interests:computers, and glass carving

Posted 09 February 2008 - 01:26 PM

i got it to take the .dxf . thanks for the help inga
mike




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users